MH&EFA Missouri Health & Educational Facilities Authority
The Authority

Authority Members

Joseph A. Cavato — Chair

Joseph A. Cavato Mr. Cavato, a resident of University City, Missouri is the principal and owner of JAC Consulting, LLC, providing consulting and advisory services to local governments, non-profit agencies and real estate development entities. Services include program management, real estate and development planning, project management, financial advisory and intergovernmental relations. In addition to his long professional career in government and finance, Mr. Cavato has been very active in the community as an advisor, volunteer and board member of a number of educational, non-profit, religious and governmental entities. He currently maintains an active role as a member of the advisory board of Cardinal Ritter College Prep High School, and the boards of the Missouri Workforce Housing Association, Barat Academy Catholic High School and the Saint Louis University Urban Planning and Real Estate Development Program Advisory Board.

Term as a Member expired July 30, 2013.

Jeffrey D. Byrne — Vice Chair

Jeffrey D. Byrne Jeffrey D. Byrne, a resident of Kansas City, Missouri, is Founder and CEO of Jeffrey Byrne & Associates, Inc., a nationally-recognized fundraising and financial development firm that specializes in building organizational capacity and conducting major gift, capital and endowment campaigns solely for nonprofit organizations. His team of consultants has successfully guided more than 320 nonprofit organizations through campaigns raising more than $1,250,000,000 since 2000. Jeffrey Byrne & Associates is committed to nonprofit fundraising success and serves a broad spectrum of clients throughout the United States, across all subsectors of the industry: arts, culture, humanities, education, environment, faith-based, healthcare, senior living and social services. Mr. Byrne has spearheaded campaigns for a broad spectrum of clients: from rural nonprofit healthcare services to national membership organizations. Among his successes are The Harry S Truman Library Institute for National and International Affairs, National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial, Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, American Academy of Family Physicians, The Nature Conservancy - Kansas Chapter, Powell Gardens, Bishop Spencer Place, The Foundation for Mount Nittany Medical Center, hundreds of YMCAs and dozens of faith-based campaigns. Mr. Byrne is a graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia with a bachelor's degree in political science. In addition to his fundraising and financial development efforts, Mr. Byrne owns and operates a fourth generation Missouri farm and is active on numerous nonprofit, philanthropic and community boards.

Term as a Member expires July 30, 2019.

Thomas E. George — Treasurer

Thomas E. George Mr. George, a resident of St. Louis, Missouri is President of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local One in St. Louis. Prior to serving as President since 1998 he served various other roles for Local One including Registrar, Instructor, Business Agent, Organizer and as Trustee for several different funds. He is a lifelong Journeyman Wireman. In addition to his professional career, Mr. George was elected to four terms as a Member of the Missouri House of Representatives from the 74th district representing a portion of north St. Louis County. He was Chairman or Vice Chairman of the Labor Committee, Workforce Development and Workplace Safety Committee and the Municipal Corporation Committee. His other committee memberships included Missouri Job Training Legislative Oversight; Local Government; Appropriation - Natural and Economic Resources; Insurance; Communications, Energy and Technology; and Employment Security and Unemployment Benefits Workers Compensation. He has been honored as the Thomas F. Eagleton Grassroots Democrat of the Year. Mr. George also served six years with the 138th Infantry of the Missouri National Guard.

Term as a Member expired July 30, 2015.

Sarah R. Maguffee — Member

Sarah R. Maguffee Sarah R. Maguffee of Columbia, Missouri, is an attorney and Adjunct Professor of Law, University of Missouri School of Law. She is a former partner at Husch Blackwell, LLP, in Jefferson City, Missouri, where she practiced law from 1996 to 2009, when she left to become a stay-at-home mother. At Husch, Ms. Maguffee successfully counseled clients from such diverse industries as banking and finance, construction and land development, and manufacturing, regarding federal, state, and local environmental, health, and safety compliance, audits, self-reporting of violations, and enforcement actions. She also advised clients regarding environmental issues that arise in commercial transactions, including real estate deals and bankruptcy. Prior to joining Husch, Ms. Maguffee practiced law in Washington, D.C., where she represented chemical manufacturers and transporters on a variety of legislative, regulatory, and enforcement issues.

A graduate of Bates College and the University of Michigan Law School, Ms. Maguffee served on the Board of Directors of the Food Bank for Central & Northeast Missouri for 9 years, the last 2 as Board President. She is currently President of the Board of Directors of the Mary Lee Johnston Community Learning Center in Columbia. She is active in King's Daughters and several other civic and charitable organizations. Governor Jay Nixon appointed Ms. Maguffee to the Missouri Health and Educational Facilities Authority.

Term as a Member expired July 30, 2013.

Judith W. Scott — Member

Judith W. Scott Judith W. Scott of Poplar Bluff, Missouri, is the Executive Director of the Three Rivers Community College Foundation. She is a graduate of Stephens College and The University of Missouri and has more than 35 years of experience as a college educator and administrator. Under her leadership The Three Rivers Community College Foundation facilitated the construction of the $3.5 million E.K. Porter Distance Learning Center opened in the spring of 2004. Mrs. Scott received the Governor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, was awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Missouri and received the Faculty-Alumni Award from the MU Alumni Association. She is a charter member of the Griffiths Leadership Society for Women at The University of Missouri, and in 2006 received the National Institute for Staff and Organization Development (NISOD) Excellence Award. She has been appointed to serve on several statewide boards, including an appointment by Governor John Ashcroft to the Missouri Lottery Commission, a position she held from 1991-96. Governor Christopher Bond appointed Mrs. Scott to the Missouri Health and Educational Facilities Authority (MoHEFA) where she served from 1984-1991. In 2007 Governor Matt Blunt appointed her to her current MoHEFA term. Mrs. Scott and her family are members of Poplar Bluff's First United Methodist Church where she participates in educational activities.

Term as a Member expired July 30, 2011.